Bientôt fans, merci !
Pourquoi pas vous ?
Facebook J'aime Paris 1

Publication scientifique à la une

Hélène Latzer

A Schumpeterian theory of multi-quality firms 

Journal of Economic Theory, 2018, vol. 175, pp. 766-802.


Résumé :

"This paper introduces multi-quality firms within a Schumpeterian framework. Featuring non-homothetic preferences and income disparities in an otherwise standard quality-ladder model, it shows that the resulting differences in the willingness to pay for quality among consumers generate both positive investments in R&D by industry leaders and positive market shares for more than one quality, hence allowing for the emergence of multi-product firms within a vertical innovation framework.

This positive investment in R&D by incumbents is obtained with complete equal treatment in the R&D field between the incumbent patent holder and the challengers: in this framework, the incentive for a leader to invest in R&D stems from a “surplus appropriation effect” specific to vertically-differentiated markets, i.e. the perspective of more efficient price discrimination when expanding the product portfolio.

Such a framework makes it possible to analyse the impact of income distribution, as well as that of several possible R&D policies, both on long-term growth and on the allocation of R&D activities between challengers and incumbents."


Codes JEL : O3 ; O4 ; F4.

O - Economic Development, Innovation, Technological Change, and Growth/O.O3 - Innovation • Research and Development • Technological Change • Intellectual Property Rights

O - Economic Development, Innovation, Technological Change, and Growth/O.O4 - Economic Growth and Aggregate Productivity

F - International Economics/F.F4 - Macroeconomic Aspects of International Trade and Finance




DOI 10.1016/j.jet.2018.03.005
Dépôt sur HAL :



Précédentes Publications Scientifiques à la Une


Choix de la publication

Chaque mois, le comité éditorial sélectionne une publication scientifique parmi celles déposées dans HAL par les membres du laboratoire. Le comité éditorial est composé de Lionel Fontagné, Agnieszka Rusinowska et Camille Chaserant. Le choix est ensuite validé en comité de direction.